Posted on

The Shameful Tiki Room

20140117-203249.jpg

4362 Main St. Menu

I had heard about this place from a coworker. “It was awful. There were no lights, and the drinks were disgusting.” Now, I take pretty much everything this coworker says with a good helping of salt; which is why, when my roommate suggested we go there one bored Friday night, I figured I’d give it a go. Arriving outside the bar, I was struck by the large blacked out windows. It seemed very strange for a cocktail joint, however, all was revealed once entering the bar. The small room was a re-creation of a standup beach bar in Hawaii, or other Polynesian island. The walls were lined with greenery, palms, and bamboo. The humidity had been cranked up, in order to simulate the stifling heat, and there were glowing tiki masks protruding from various spots in the foliage. Every table in the small room was occupied, so my roommate and I took up positions at the bar, where they were showing a black and white movie on a small vintage tv nestled in with the bottles. As we sat down we were startled by a gong ringing out and a chorus of “Myyyystery booooowl!” from the servers. We turned to watch a large shell, full of flaming alcohol be served to one of the nearby tables.

After vowing never to order one of those, we perused the extensive cocktail list. I immediately ordered my favourite tiki drink, the blue Hawaiian, and my colleague decided on a Zombie. I’ve recently found that sitting at the bar is, by far, the best way to experience an establishment. Your drinks arrive promptly, you are able to engage with the tender who makes your drinks, and is much more refreshing to talk to than someone who is paid to be nice to you. This was certainly the case at the Shameful Tiki Room as well. The bartender was very friendly, made superb drinks, and had an extensive knowledge of the menu. The chap was also fantastically patient with the vapid group sitting next to us at the bar, who ordered eight piña coladas (not on the menu) and didn’t say a word of thanks.

I have has some bad experiences before at tiki bars, specifically in regards to over priced, watered down drinks; Shameful does not suffer from the same dilemma. After three drinks (blue Hawaiian, some kind of gin and ginger concoction, and a Bermudian swizzle) I was holding myself up on the stool. Roomie and I decided to put something in our stomach before leaving and quickly decided on some tortilla chips and salsa. We were both pretty wavy at this point, so I don’t feel I could give an accurate assessment for the appie, but it’s also really hard to mess up chips and salsa.

The crowd was fairly young, mid twenties I’d guess, and in large groups. Clearly this place is a one off for many people, they come for the strange atmosphere, bring back a couple of friends, and then never go again. I personally think Shameful is great bang for your buck and a welcome relief to the cactus club clones popping up around Vancouver. I’ll defiantly be back, Aloha!<

About leahchatter

I'm a 20-something year old post-graduate pre-career bar hopper. What else would we do with our time?

One response to “The Shameful Tiki Room

  1. Laura Burns ⋅

    How lucky are we to live in a world class city, where the restaurant/lounge options don’t need to include chain options. Ever.

    Good job!

Leave a Reply

